Guided by Stillwater

Raise awareness. Call to action.

Validation

After various debates and a recent line of questioning as to “Why” I do not support same-sex marriage, I figured here and now is as good a time and place as any to answer these specific questions.

Q: What is unlikeable about this?

A: The recent struggle for “equality” in the same-sex marriage war is very hypocritical. While “Equality for All” is the slogan, it is not what the homosexual community and its supporters truly desire. If so, they would advocate for others who are prohibited, such as blood relatives and polygamists. I don’t see any same-sex marriage activists advocating for  two consensual siblings who “love” each other or religious fanatics that secretly have a dozen wives. I don’t think the homosexual community considers those people “equals”.

Furthermore, when does it end? What happens when THREE consenting adults love each other and just want the same rights as heterosexual couples? Is the world going to respond, “Who am I to judge people different than me? Just because that’s not my lifestyle does not mean I have the right to legislate morality for someone else.” That would be absurd. When would it end?

Q: Why can’t we just let these “others” get married, while you continue to live your life your own way?

A: Well, because I am a voting citizen like everyone else. Prop 8 gave me the option to vote my own conscience just as it did for everyone. This country was founded on the majority voice of the people and, even in a state as liberal as California, same-sex marriage is not supported.

Q: After all, church and state, as stated in our constitution, are separate. Correct?

A: Sure…sort of. Marriage itself crosses this “separation” as both a religious/spiritual union and one recognized by the state. Citizens of all religions and walks of life were given the opportunity to vote either in support or opposition of this “equality” issue. And then, to everyone’s dismay, California upheld the outcome last month! So, you tell me, how can you distinguish the boundaries of church and state as it pertains to marriage?

Q: Tell me if I’m wrong, the reason you don’t believe in gay marriage is because 1. the bible states a marriage as between a man and a woman, and 2. being gay is a sin (then again so is eating pasta carbonara)?

A: Yes, I believe marriage is reserved for one man and one woman. Yes, I believe homosexuality is a sin but I don’t know about “pasta carbonara”. Personally, I put homosexuality on the same level as unforgiveness, which is serious business: “But if you do not forgive men their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins” (Matthew 6:15). However, take this Biblical verse about homosexuality as a whole and the same severity applies, “Don’t you realize that those who do wrong will not inherit the Kingdom of God? Don’t fool yourselves. Those who indulge in sexual sin, or who worship idols, or commit adultery, or are male prostitutes, or practice homosexuality, or are thieves, or greedy people, or drunkards, or are abusive, or cheat people—none of these will inherit the Kingdom of God” (1 Corinthians 6:8-10).

Now, I know many believe homosexuality is not a choice, but say that to those who are choosing to live contrarily to their homosexual tendency. You may have noticed, the above verse lists homosexuality with a whole gamut of things that are CHOSEN. Why would God throw in homosexuality, a non-choice, with a bunch of lifestyle choices?

Finally, I will say this, God is love and those who profess Christianity are not full of hate for “withholding marriage rights” from a certain group of people. In my opinion, and the opinion of many others, the homosexual community is looking to the Christian community for love but only in the form of validation. Just because I don’t validate a certain lifestyle, does not mean I do not love them. (I suppose this last paragraph sums up all of the questions).

For further reading: The Secular Case Against Gay Marriage

June 2, 2009 - Posted by | Politics, Religion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

